FXCM Forex Trading

How to Download and Install Custom Indicator

Here you can post and download custom indicators. PLEASE: Do not start topics unless you are posting your own indicator, they will be moved to appropriate section even if you do.

Moderator: admin

How to Download and Install Custom Indicator

Postby admin » Tue Oct 20, 2009 12:21 pm

The latest version of the article can be found in FXCodebase wiki:
http://fxcodebase.com/wiki/index.php/Cu ... arketscope


Step 1. Download Indicator

Variant 1

In case the indicator is attached to the post, right click on the name of the attached file and then choose "Save Target As" in the context menu.

save_v1_1.png


The "Save As" dialog appears. Choose any folder, for example c:\ to save the indicator. The name of the indicator file (alligator.lua in our example) will appear in the dialog automatically.

save_v1_2.png


Click the "Save" button. That's all, the indicator is saved. You can go to the next step.

Variant 2

In case the indicator author published only the code of the indicator, you have to copy-paste it to your computer.

Click on the "SELECT ALL" options of the indicator code.

save_v2_1.png


Then right-click on the selected text and choose "Copy"

save_v2_2.png


Click on the Windows' Start Menu and Choose "Run". The Run dialog appears. Type "notepad" in "Open" field and press OK.

save_v2_3.png


Notepad application appears. Go to the "Edit" menu and choose "Paste".

save_v2_4.png


The indicator source code will be inserted into the notepad application. Go to the "File" menu and choose "Save As". The "Save As" dialog appears. Choose any folder, for example c:\ to save the indicator. Type the name of the indicator in the "File Name" field. The extension (the part of the name after the last dot character (.)) must always be lua.

save_v2_5.png


And, finally, click "Save" to save the indicator on your computer.
admin
FXCodeBase: Site Admin
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 10:02 am
Location: Paramus, NJ

Re: How to Download and Install Custom Indicator

Postby admin » Tue Oct 20, 2009 12:35 pm

Step 2. Install Indicator in Trading Station application

1) Open Marketscope application. Choose the "Alerts and Trading Automation" menu and then choose "Import Extension".

setup-1.PNG

The "Open" dialog box appears. Choose the file you have saved on the previous step.

setup-2.PNG
(93.08 KiB) Not downloaded yet

The "Install Extension" dialog box appears. Click "Install".

setup-3.PNG

Click "Ok". The indicator is loaded and appears in the custom indicators list.

The "Extension has been installed" message box appears. No errors must be shown. Click "OK".

setup-4.PNG
(4.97 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Restart the Trading Station application. That's all, the new indicator is in the list of indicators which appears when you choose "Add Indicator" command on the chart.
Last edited by Anonymous on Wed May 22, 2013 2:32 am, edited 4 times in total.
Reason: The instruction has been updated for new May 2013 Marketscope version
admin
FXCodeBase: Site Admin
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 10:02 am
Location: Paramus, NJ

Re: How to Download and Install Custom Indicator

Postby pipsahoy » Mon Apr 12, 2010 6:23 am

I have tried to Install some of the custom indicators and get an error when I attempt to load the indicators using the "load" command under "manage custom indicators." This message appears in the comments section: "Error in the file 'C:\Downloads\Forex\lua indicators\RubCCI.lua':[string "RubCCI.lau"]:5:attempt to index global 'indicator' (a nil value)."

I get a similar error with other indicators. Please advise as to the solution.
pipsahoy
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 5:27 am

Re: How to Download and Install Custom Indicator

Postby Nikolay.Gekht » Mon Apr 12, 2010 8:41 am

I can reproduce the problem only in case I try to use the "Manage Custom Signals" command instead of "Manage Custom Indicators".

The first is located in the "Signals" menu and is intended for loading and installing singals, the second is located in the "Chart" menu and is intended for loading and installing indicators.

If you use the proper command but the error appears, could you please send me the following information (please, use nikolay.gekht(at)gehtsoftusa(dot)com email address):
1) the version of the TS (Help->About)
2) the language (english, french and so on)
3) the skin (midnight, mac style and so on)
4) the snapshot of the screen with the error.
Nikolay.Gekht
FXCodeBase: Base Builder
 
Posts: 1222
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 6:39 pm
Location: Cary, NC

Re: How to Download and Install Custom Indicator

Postby pipsahoy » Mon Apr 12, 2010 12:22 pm

Thanks, Nikolay.Gekht :D That was my problem. Everything works great now!
pipsahoy
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 5:27 am

Re: How to Download and Install Custom Indicator

Postby kevinb1914 » Wed Apr 14, 2010 8:02 pm

When I choose "Add Indicator" command on the chart and try to load 'ZONETRADE', the Bill Williams Zone Trade indicator that I just added from this forum, a dialog box opens and under 'Parameters' and the cursor is on the 'name' section.

What am I supposed to type in? This does not happen with the pre-loaded indicators nor with the other indicators that I downloaded from this forum because the 'name' is automatically filled in.

Why does this happen with ZONETRADE and how can I fix it?
kevinb1914
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 7:48 pm

Re: How to Download and Install Custom Indicator

Postby big777 » Thu Jul 22, 2010 1:24 pm

A huge thank you for the excellent work here.
I am ignorant of programming however, and have a question that demonstrates this.

I'm able to put your very brilliant indicators and oscillators into my *.lua folder, but do not know how to copy and paste in new Metatrader code (*.MQ4) code as *.lua and have it load into Marketscope with the Manage Custom Indicator method. I get a "failed to load... error message when I try to load per the usual method. Is there a tutorial on how to use Metatrader code in Marketscope ? If that even can be done?

Thanx,

big777
big777
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2010 12:35 pm

Re: How to Download and Install Custom Indicator

Postby Nikolay.Gekht » Thu Jul 22, 2010 8:49 pm

You cannot use MT4 code in the Marketscope. MT4 code is written in the metastock propertiary language called MQL4. In order to be used in the Marketscope, the indicator (or signal or strategy) must be developed in for the marketscope. If you cannot translate the MQL code yourself - you can find the developer or leave the request in the approriate forum, for example here:
viewforum.php?f=27
Nikolay.Gekht
FXCodeBase: Base Builder
 
Posts: 1222
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 6:39 pm
Location: Cary, NC

Re: How to Download and Install Custom Indicator

Postby baongockt29 » Thu Aug 12, 2010 6:06 am

Hello
I can not create the Simple Moving Average - SMA into the chart.
I need your help to do that.
But, there is not SMA in the Cateloge Add Indicator of my FXCN Trading Station.
Can you help me, please?
baongockt29
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2010 4:52 am

Re: How to Download and Install Custom Indicator

Postby Apprentice » Thu Aug 12, 2010 6:23 am

Confusion is perhaps because of the name we use,
you can find it as a Moving Average Indicator (MVA).

If this does not help.

Picture is worth a thousand words.

The process of adding indicators on the chart.

1.Click the right mouse button opens a menu where you can find the Add Indicator button.
1.png

2.Find and expand Moving Averages Group.
2.PNG

3.Double-click on the MVA indicator to add it to the Chart.
3.PNG
User avatar
Apprentice
FXCodeBase: Confirmed User
 
Posts: 17130
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 11:59 am
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Next

Return to Custom Indicators

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 8 guests