Dochian Channel Indicator

Here you can post and download custom indicators. PLEASE: Do not start topics unless you are posting your own indicator, they will be moved to appropriate section even if you do.

Moderator: admin

Re: Dochian Channel Indicator

Postby Apprentice » Sun Apr 14, 2019 9:56 am

I'm not sure I understand you.
You want to shift the line x periods left or right?
Can you specify/post indicator/strategy version?
User avatar
Apprentice
FXCodeBase: Confirmed User
 
Posts: 22471
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 11:59 am
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: Dochian Channel Indicator

Postby Avignon » Tue Apr 16, 2019 12:25 pm

I want signal here (for example):
Capture.png


I use Donchian channel with alert (viewtopic.php?f=17&t=20#p21)


Thanks.
Avignon
FXCodeBase: Initiate
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 3:54 am

Re: Dochian Channel Indicator

Postby Apprentice » Thu Apr 18, 2019 5:13 am

Your request is added to the development list under Id Number 4599
User avatar
Apprentice
FXCodeBase: Confirmed User
 
Posts: 22471
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 11:59 am
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: Dochian Channel Indicator

Postby Avignon » Mon Apr 22, 2019 10:04 am

An indicator, in my name, and it works the way I want it to.

Thanks Apprentice.
Avignon
FXCodeBase: Initiate
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 3:54 am

Re: Dochian Channel Indicator

Postby lshcube » Tue Sep 17, 2019 4:52 pm

Hi

I just tested the Donchian Channel Indicator with alert. I am trying to catch breakouts of n period highs or lows. However, the alert does not sound when price make new high or lows. It only alerts when price crosses back when price retreats from new highs or lows. There are no alerts as price makes repeated new highs or lows. This means it is not possible to be alerted when price breaks out of the channel..

I noticed that the alert messages are either "Lower Outer Line : Cross Over" or "Upper Outer Line : Cross Under. Never "Lower Outer Line : Cross Under" or "Upper Outer Line : Cross Over". I think this proves there is a an error. In addition to the fact that the alert does not sound when price makes new highs or lows.

Regards
lshcube
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2019 4:20 pm

Re: Dochian Channel Indicator

Postby Apprentice » Wed Sep 18, 2019 6:20 am

Your request is added to the development list.
Development reference 100.
User avatar
Apprentice
FXCodeBase: Confirmed User
 
Posts: 22471
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 11:59 am
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: Dochian Channel Indicator

Postby lshcube » Thu Sep 19, 2019 12:25 pm

Thanks !!!

I would like the option to be alerted either (a) the moment prices crosses the highs or lows or (b) on the close of the bar.

Would it be possible to place the indicator on one time frame (say H1) whilst monitoring the breakout on a lower time frame (say 15m)?

Regards
lshcube
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2019 4:20 pm


Re: Dochian Channel Indicator

Postby lshcube » Fri Sep 20, 2019 12:35 pm

Hi

Same problem. New highs or lows do not trigger alert. It's as if the current high is compared to the high for n periods which also includes the high for the current period. So the current high will never exceed the 20 period high because the current high is being compared to itself.

Anyway, I discovered your "TBB with alert" indicator which should serve the same purpose - detect volatility breakout. I will use that indicator instead as it is working.

Regards.
lshcube
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2019 4:20 pm

Previous

Return to Custom Indicators

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests