Page 7 of 10

Re: Dochian Channel Indicator

PostPosted: Sun Apr 14, 2019 9:56 am
by Apprentice
I'm not sure I understand you.
You want to shift the line x periods left or right?
Can you specify/post indicator/strategy version?

Re: Dochian Channel Indicator

PostPosted: Tue Apr 16, 2019 12:25 pm
by Avignon
I want signal here (for example):
Capture.png


I use Donchian channel with alert (viewtopic.php?f=17&t=20#p21)


Thanks.

Re: Dochian Channel Indicator

PostPosted: Thu Apr 18, 2019 5:13 am
by Apprentice
Your request is added to the development list under Id Number 4599

Re: Dochian Channel Indicator

PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2019 10:04 am
by Avignon
An indicator, in my name, and it works the way I want it to.

Thanks Apprentice.

Re: Dochian Channel Indicator

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2019 4:52 pm
by lshcube
Hi

I just tested the Donchian Channel Indicator with alert. I am trying to catch breakouts of n period highs or lows. However, the alert does not sound when price make new high or lows. It only alerts when price crosses back when price retreats from new highs or lows. There are no alerts as price makes repeated new highs or lows. This means it is not possible to be alerted when price breaks out of the channel..

I noticed that the alert messages are either "Lower Outer Line : Cross Over" or "Upper Outer Line : Cross Under. Never "Lower Outer Line : Cross Under" or "Upper Outer Line : Cross Over". I think this proves there is a an error. In addition to the fact that the alert does not sound when price makes new highs or lows.

Regards

Re: Dochian Channel Indicator

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2019 6:20 am
by Apprentice
Your request is added to the development list.
Development reference 100.

Re: Dochian Channel Indicator

PostPosted: Thu Sep 19, 2019 12:25 pm
by lshcube
Thanks !!!

I would like the option to be alerted either (a) the moment prices crosses the highs or lows or (b) on the close of the bar.

Would it be possible to place the indicator on one time frame (say H1) whilst monitoring the breakout on a lower time frame (say 15m)?

Regards

Re: Dochian Channel Indicator

PostPosted: Thu Sep 19, 2019 1:01 pm
by Apprentice
Donchian_Channel_with_Alert.Avignon.lua
(27.85 KiB) Downloaded 277 times

Try this version.

Re: Dochian Channel Indicator

PostPosted: Fri Sep 20, 2019 12:35 pm
by lshcube
Hi

Same problem. New highs or lows do not trigger alert. It's as if the current high is compared to the high for n periods which also includes the high for the current period. So the current high will never exceed the 20 period high because the current high is being compared to itself.

Anyway, I discovered your "TBB with alert" indicator which should serve the same purpose - detect volatility breakout. I will use that indicator instead as it is working.

Regards.

Re: Dochian Channel Indicator

PostPosted: Mon Sep 23, 2019 12:20 pm
by lshcube
Hi Apprentice,

TBB WITH ALERT works fine. I couldn't find an MT4 version. Could you make an MT4 version? Thanks!

Regards.