Constant Range Bars (CRB)

Here you can post and download custom indicators. PLEASE: Do not start topics unless you are posting your own indicator, they will be moved to appropriate section even if you do.

Moderator: admin

Constant Range Bars (CRB)

Postby Alexander.Gettinger » Tue Feb 08, 2011 2:56 am

Indicator draws candles each of which consists of constant number of ticks.
Under last candle can show number of ticks as label.

CRB.png


Speed of the indicator drawing depends on amount of data.
For timeframes bigger than m30, this requires big time.
I think what solve this problem.

Download:
CRB.lua
(7.53 KiB) Downloaded 1918 times


Download indicator for other chart:
CRB2.lua
(7.48 KiB) Downloaded 1347 times
Alexander.Gettinger
FXCodeBase: Confirmed User
 
Posts: 3342
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 9:40 pm
Location: Russia, Omsk

Re: Constant Range Bars (CRB)

Postby Forexlooser » Wed Feb 09, 2011 5:31 pm

Thank you.
Forexlooser
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 9:11 am
Location: Germany, near Koblenz

Re: Constant Range Bars (CRB)

Postby Hoegie » Fri Feb 11, 2011 2:35 pm

Alexander,

Any idea why the larger timeframes require so much loading time? I am interested in tick based candlesticks instead of time-based candlesticks. I understand they give you a better view of the market and I'm considering something in the range of 89-233 ticks per bar, maybe more as I currently like to trade 4HR/1HR charts. Can this be done under the current platform?

Thank you.
Hoegie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 11:56 am

Re: Constant Range Bars (CRB)

Postby Alexander.Gettinger » Sun Feb 13, 2011 9:38 pm

Hoegie wrote:Any idea why the larger timeframes require so much loading time? I am interested in tick based candlesticks instead of time-based candlesticks. I understand they give you a better view of the market and I'm considering something in the range of 89-233 ticks per bar, maybe more as I currently like to trade 4HR/1HR charts. Can this be done under the current platform?


I work on it.
Alexander.Gettinger
FXCodeBase: Confirmed User
 
Posts: 3342
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 9:40 pm
Location: Russia, Omsk

Re: Constant Range Bars (CRB)

Postby Alexander.Gettinger » Wed Mar 02, 2011 4:28 am

Hoegie wrote:Any idea why the larger timeframes require so much loading time? I am interested in tick based candlesticks instead of time-based candlesticks. I understand they give you a better view of the market and I'm considering something in the range of 89-233 ticks per bar, maybe more as I currently like to trade 4HR/1HR charts. Can this be done under the current platform?


This problem is solved.
Indicators may use for calculation not only tick data.
At choice timeframe is recommended take into account average volumes for different timeframes.

Download:
CRB_TF.lua
(7.33 KiB) Downloaded 1494 times


Download indicator for other chart:
CRB2_TF.lua
(7.29 KiB) Downloaded 1162 times
Alexander.Gettinger
FXCodeBase: Confirmed User
 
Posts: 3342
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 9:40 pm
Location: Russia, Omsk

Re: Constant Range Bars (CRB)

Postby Laurus12 » Wed Nov 30, 2011 11:23 am

Thank you very much for this indicator Alexander. I was not aware of the possibility to have tick charts in Marketscope.
Laurus12
FXCodeBase: Confirmed User
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 6:49 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Constant Range Bars (CRB)

Postby Apprentice » Thu Dec 01, 2011 9:29 am

I'm not sure whether I understand your question.
User avatar
Apprentice
FXCodeBase: Confirmed User
 
Posts: 19866
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 11:59 am
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: Constant Range Bars (CRB)

Postby nookie » Mon Jan 09, 2012 2:06 pm

This looks great, can it be made like this that candles are heikin ashi ?
nookie
FXCodeBase: Initiate
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 12:50 pm

Re: Constant Range Bars (CRB)

Postby Apprentice » Mon Jan 09, 2012 3:30 pm

Unfortunately, I do not understand your request.
User avatar
Apprentice
FXCodeBase: Confirmed User
 
Posts: 19866
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 11:59 am
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: Constant Range Bars (CRB)

Postby Liquifier » Thu Feb 23, 2012 9:02 am

I get this error when I try to use CRB.lua on a m1 chart:
An error occurred during the calculation of the indicator 'Custom Candles Indicator'. The error details: [string "CRB.lua"]:255: [string "CRB.lua"]:132: attempt to index field 'open' (a nil value).

Is there a way to get this indicator to behave like the tick charts in Strategy Trader? Basically, I want each bar to represent X ticks but is also time independent.

For example:
FXCM Strategy Trader2.png


This chart from Strategy trader does not create a new bar for each m1, m5, m30, etc, but only after 70 ticks of data.
Liquifier
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 10:30 am

Next

Return to Custom Indicators

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests

cron