FXCM Forex Trading

Breakout indicator

Here you can post and download custom indicators. PLEASE: Do not start topics unless you are posting your own indicator, they will be moved to appropriate section even if you do.

Moderator: admin

Re: Breakout indicator

Postby Apprentice » Sat Nov 10, 2012 6:01 pm

Your request is added to the development list.
User avatar
Apprentice
FXCodeBase: Confirmed User
 
Posts: 15168
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 11:59 am
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: Breakout indicator

Postby amazon1a » Thu Dec 20, 2012 10:37 pm

I would also like to see an EMA filter. Thanks so much for all your great work!!
User avatar
amazon1a
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 10:47 am

Re: Breakout indicator

Postby mjf1288 » Fri Dec 21, 2012 8:52 am

EMA filter please try 384 period on a 5min chart.....it works very well!

could we integrate this into the indicator?
mjf1288
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 5:15 am

Re: Breakout indicator

Postby Coondawg71 » Thu Aug 22, 2013 10:51 am

I would like to request an amendment to this indicator.

I think this indicator could be expanded for very useful and effective trading which I will illustrate with the attached image.

1. I have utilized the Breakout Indicator to automatically highlight a specific time period that I utilize which in my opinion has a tendency to forecast future movement for intraday prices. Please allow this indicator to plot a trendline very much the same way our Trade Sessions indicator plots a trendline from the start to end of the user specified time periods. I utilized this with first period 21:00 EST to last period 22:00. The trendline should begin at close price of first period to close price of last period and extend into the future. The colorization of the breakout box to indicate last period close price occurring above/below the the first period close price would be beneficial to eliminate the need of zooming in.

2. A "period open line" plotted horizontal like our already established "Period Open" indicator would help form our triangle formation.

3. (Optional) I have not seen anyone able to conduct an automatic Fib Fan, perhaps by using this narrow of a period used with the Breakout Indicator we can perform that task. If a Fib Fan can utilized the first period close and the last period close to plot a Fib Fan it would prove very beneficial.

Thanks!

sjc
Attachments
Breakout Indicator with Trendline and Fib Fan.png
Brakout Indicator with Trendline and Fib Fan
User avatar
Coondawg71
FXCodeBase: Graduate
 
Posts: 325
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2011 11:45 am

Re: Breakout indicator

Postby Apprentice » Fri Aug 23, 2013 1:59 am

Your request is added to the development list.
User avatar
Apprentice
FXCodeBase: Confirmed User
 
Posts: 15168
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 11:59 am
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: Breakout indicator

Postby jorgearana » Tue Aug 27, 2013 10:55 pm

Hi, i am trying to see the breakout indicator in a program in VB.net, but i can't do it because the indicator needs the parameters as "00:00" but vb.net transform it into #12:00 AM#.

I tried changing the format and changing the value as string but i can't find the way to make it work.

Can you help me please?
jorgearana
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: Breakout Indicator

Postby nazaar » Sun Nov 17, 2013 2:16 pm

Hello!

The breakout.lua is excellent tool to assist in quickly identifying key areas. I like how you can choose the opening and closing reference time periods.

I would like to suggest adding the following edits:

1: Add the option to display the pip difference between the breakout range period.
2: Add the option to display the hour when the period begins.
3: Draw a horizontal line from the opening price to the end of the period. Give the option to extend line to opening of next period opening hour.

Please see attached chart for examples of what it may look like.

Thanks in advance.
"Timing is everything"
Attachments
breakout request.png
Adding labels and pip calculations
nazaar
FXCodeBase: Initiate
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 2:21 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Breakout indicator

Postby Apprentice » Mon Nov 18, 2013 5:38 am

Your request has been added to the development list.
User avatar
Apprentice
FXCodeBase: Confirmed User
 
Posts: 15168
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 11:59 am
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: Breakout indicator

Postby nazaar » Mon Nov 18, 2013 4:53 pm

I'm trying to make the edits myself. I am guessing from other tools what the needed code might be.

Here is what I have got from looking at other tools with the requested change but I cannot get it to work.

Theoretically, this does not sound complicated to add a label, draw line and do a simple calculation but I do not how to code that. Please help!

To begin, I think it needs label text colour:
indicator.parameters:addColor("Text_color", "Text color", "Text color", core.rgb(0, 0, 0));
indicator.parameters:addInteger("TextSize", "Text size", "Text size", 6);


Then, the options for the line (colour, style and width)

indicator.parameters:addColor("clr", "Open Line Color", "", core.rgb(192, 192, 192));
indicator.parameters:addInteger("Style", "Line Style", "", core.LINE_DOT);
indicator.parameters:addInteger("Width", "Line Width", "", 1, 1, 5);
indicator.parameters:setFlag("Style2", core.FLAG_LEVEL_STYLE);

...

Then, data source to calculate the difference between high and low, in pips

local hilo_data = nil; -- the high/low data
local H; -- high stream
local L; -- low stream
local O; -- open stream


...

-- the function which is called to calculate the period
function Update(period, mode)
-- get date and time of the hi/lo candle in the reference data
local hilo_candle;
hilo_candle = core.getcandle(BS, source:date(period), offset, weekoffset);

-- if data for the specific candle are still loading
-- then do nothing
if loading and hilo_candle >= loadingFrom and (loadingTo == 0 or hilo_candle <= loadingTo) then
return ;
end


After this, I don't know what else to do and where to place these lines.

Thanks for any help available.
nazaar
FXCodeBase: Initiate
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 2:21 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Breakout indicator

Postby babelli » Mon May 26, 2014 1:30 am

Hi, could u convert this indicator to mq4. please..
babelli
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 26, 2014 1:27 am

PreviousNext

Return to Custom Indicators

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 16 guests