Tick source, Bid or Ask

Section for discussions related to indicators, use of indicators, and building of trading stategies using indicators.

Moderator: admin

Tick source, Bid or Ask

Postby sosinsky » Tue Feb 06, 2018 7:47 am

Hi,

When I apply an indicator to a tick chart, what is its source, is it Bid or Ask? Is it an average between both? Does it depend on which source I am visualizing on chart (Bid or Ask buttons)?

Thanks,
sosinsky
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 11:21 am

Re: Tick source, Bid or Ask

Postby Apprentice » Fri Feb 16, 2018 3:17 pm

It will be Ask or Bid.
I have to say we have one problem here.
Bid is used by default.
If you want to use Ask, turn off Bid.
Add Indicator, turn on Bid.
Will alert the development team about this issue.
User avatar
Apprentice
FXCodeBase: Confirmed User
 
Posts: 36341
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 11:59 am
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: Tick source, Bid or Ask

Postby Cactus » Sat Mar 03, 2018 11:35 am

I've another question about bid and ask
How can I get the stream of the bid ask median (ask + bid / 2) and apply indicator on it?
Currently I have:
t1_bid = ExtSubscribe(id_t1_bid, symbol, t1, true, "bar");
t1_ask = ExtSubscribe(id_t1_ask, symbol, t1, false, "bar");

And then do:
Code: Select all
        if canCalculate( t1_ask , getClosedPeriod(t1_ask, t1_ask:size() - 1) )  and canCalculate( t1_bid , getClosedPeriod(t1_bid, t1_bid:size() - 1) )  then
            mid_tick = (t1_ask[getClosedPeriod(t1_ask, t1_ask:size() - 1) ] + t1_bid[getClosedPeriod(t1_bid, t1_bid:size() - 1)]) / 2;
        end 


But I can not apply any indicator on this "mid_tick". So I calculate the indicators twice (bid and ask) and then do the same (ask + bid /2) on each stream of the indicator data
But I was hoping I can just calculate the mid tick and then apply indicator on it like
core.indicators:create("INDICATOR",Mid_Tick...
Never chase the money, let the money come to me
User avatar
Cactus
FXCodeBase: Graduate
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2016 11:46 am
Location: Errywhere

Re: Tick source, Bid or Ask

Postby Apprentice » Mon Mar 05, 2018 10:55 am

You can use Bid Ask Median indicator as an external source for indicator calculation.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=63487
User avatar
Apprentice
FXCodeBase: Confirmed User
 
Posts: 36341
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 11:59 am
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: Tick source, Bid or Ask

Postby sosinsky » Mon Mar 12, 2018 10:53 am

Thank you. If it gets solved let me know. For now I will switch between them.
Just another question, what is the limit of tick/second of TradingStation?
I read that some API can have up to 200 tick/second but yea what is the limit of Trading Station?

Thaks,
sosinsky
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 11:21 am

Re: Tick source, Bid or Ask

Postby Apprentice » Thu Mar 22, 2018 7:54 am

I believe this is determined by market conditions, FXCM servers. Not by TS.
User avatar
Apprentice
FXCodeBase: Confirmed User
 
Posts: 36341
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 11:59 am
Location: Zagreb, Croatia


Return to Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests