Page 1 of 1

Load more than 300 bars?

PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2019 2:47 pm
by jellison
I have written an indicator to draw support and resistance lines. I would like it to be able to look back more than the 300 bars that are loaded by default. Does anyone know how to achieve this?

Re: Load more than 300 bars?

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2019 12:00 pm
by Alexander.Gettinger
How do you load the data?

Re: Load more than 300 bars?

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2019 5:16 pm
by jellison
Through the standard indicator framework (skeletal code below) - I can't get any data if history_length is greater than 300.

Code: Select all
function Prepare()

    source = instance.source;
    first = source:first();

    ...

end

 
function Update(period, mode)
       
    start_date = source:date(period - history_length);
   
    ...

end



Re: Load more than 300 bars?

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2019 2:54 pm
by Alexander.Gettinger
Your indicator takes data from the chart and it can use as much data as you downloaded to the chart.