FXCM Forex Trading

SMI levels

If you need an Indicator or Signal developed or translated from other language, please post all Indicator development REQUESTS to this section here.

Moderator: admin

SMI levels

Postby Carimwell » Mon Sep 04, 2017 10:20 pm

Hi Guys
Many many thanks for all the work you all put in to develop indicators and strategies and make them available to the TS community. I find the SMI indicator very useful, although not many people appear to use it in MarketScope. I have the SMIs for 3 or sometimes 4 timeframes all overlaid together, so I can readily do multi-timeframe analysis. For example, on the 1 minute chart, I have the 1M, 5M, 15M and 1H SMIs overlaid together. What would make this even more useful would be to get an alert when either the data line or the signal line for the SMI for a particular timeframe crosses a chosen level (eg 40/60/90). So the timeframes and the SMI parameters would need to be selectable as well as the levels. Would this be possible please?
Carimwell
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 10:11 pm

Re: SMI levels

Postby Apprentice » Tue Sep 05, 2017 5:29 am

Try MTF MCP SMI Heat Map with Alert.lua
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=2071
User avatar
Apprentice
FXCodeBase: Confirmed User
 
Posts: 16949
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 11:59 am
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: SMI levels

Postby Carimwell » Wed Sep 06, 2017 2:42 am

Well that was disappointing.
1. Its a heat map
2. You can't set the alert levels ( eg 40/60/90)
3. You can't choose whether the alert applies to the data or the signal line.
I guess I am looking for a custom SMI indicator with an alert that I can set to a specific level for a specific line not just the standard OB/OS.
Is this at all possible please?
Carimwell
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 10:11 pm

Re: SMI levels

Postby Apprentice » Wed Sep 06, 2017 4:27 am

1. Its a heat map

Can you provide web reference for the desired presentation?

2. You can't set the alert levels ( eg 40/60/90)

Capture.PNG


3. You can't choose whether the alert applies to the data or the signal line.

It can be easily added.
As I recall, it was not specified.

I guess I am looking for a custom SMI indicator with an alert that I can set to a specific level for a specific line not just the standard OB/OS.
Is this at all possible please?


So, SMI with the alert is needed?
User avatar
Apprentice
FXCodeBase: Confirmed User
 
Posts: 16949
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 11:59 am
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: SMI levels

Postby Carimwell » Wed Sep 06, 2017 6:56 am

Thanks Apprentice. Actually the heat map isn't such a bad idea. But would it be possible to specify whether the data line or the signal line is used to trigger the alert?
many thanks.
Carimwell
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 10:11 pm

Re: SMI levels

Postby Apprentice » Wed Sep 06, 2017 7:59 am

SMI with Alert.lua added.
MTF MCP SMI Heat Map with Alert.lua updated.
User avatar
Apprentice
FXCodeBase: Confirmed User
 
Posts: 16949
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 11:59 am
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: SMI levels

Postby Carimwell » Wed Sep 06, 2017 9:00 pm

Great, thank you very much indeed.
Carimwell
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 10:11 pm


Return to Indicator and Signal Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests