Custom Start and End Times for Daily Candles?

If you need an Indicator or Signal developed or translated from other language, please post all Indicator development REQUESTS to this section here.

Moderator: admin

Custom Start and End Times for Daily Candles?

Postby frankdrebin » Wed Apr 10, 2019 2:03 am

Hello.

Is it possible to create candles that start and end at a custom time each day and only include data from that time period?

For example, a daily chart that shows an OHLC bar that opens at 08:31 EST and closes at 17:00 EST each day (rather than the normal 5pm to 5pm) would be very helpful to me as that is the time I trade, and would help to gauge previous volatility during that time period.

The chart would look somewhat like a normal chart except there would be gaps from Close to next Open on many bars.

Not being a programmer, I'm not sure whether this would be very easy or very difficult. Hoping for the former.

Apologies if this has already been asked and answered. I looked around the Board and couldn't find anything like this.

Any help offered would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
frankdrebin

Re: Custom Start and End Times for Daily Candles?

Postby frankdrebin » Thu Apr 11, 2019 10:42 am

Also, at least for my purposes, the chart does NOT need to be live. This would be used strictly for analysis of past data.

Hope this helps.
frankdrebin

Postby frankdrebin » Fri Apr 12, 2019 3:09 am

This is close, a step in the right direction. Thanks.

However, I'd like to specify both a START and END time. Having only a start time still gives 24 hrs of data including the Asian and European sessions, which is data I don't need as I only trade the US hours.

Also, being able to specify both the start and end times by the hour and MINUTE is important.

Can this indicator be modified to do this?

Thanks again for your help.
frankdrebin

Postby Apprentice » Fri Apr 12, 2019 4:42 am

Your request is added to the development list under Id Number 4590
Apprentice