FXCM Forex Trading

How to Download and Install a Custom Signal/Strategy

The custom signals are published in this forum.

Moderator: admin

How to Download and Install a Custom Signal/Strategy

Postby Nikolay.Gekht » Sun Apr 11, 2010 7:41 pm

Download the signal/strategy

The signal/strategy is usually attached to the post as a file.

Right click on the name of the attached file and then choose "Save Target As" in the context menu.

howto1.PNG


The "Save As" dialog appears. Choose any folder, for example c:\ to save the
signal/strategy. The name of the signal or strategy file (EMA_LAG_CCI.lua in our example) will appear in the dialog automatically.

howto2.PNG


Click the "Save" button. That's all, the signal/strategy is saved.

Note: Sometimes, the signal/strategy requires the custom indicators. In that case these indicators are listed in the post. Please do not forget to download and install the custom indicators!

Install the signal/strategy

Open Marketscope application. Choose the "Alerts and Trading Automation" menu and then choose "Import Strategies and Alerts".

howto3.PNG


The "Import Strategies and Alerts" dialog box appears. Click "Load".

howto4.PNG


The "Open" dialog box appears. Choose the file you have saved on the previous step (see "Download the signal/strategy").

howto5.PNG


Click "Open". The signal/strategy is loaded and appears in the custom strategy list.

howto6.PNG


That's all, the new signal/strategy is in the list which appears when you choose "New Strategy or Alert".

howto7.PNG
Last edited by Anonymous on Thu Nov 24, 2011 1:04 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: The instruction has been updated for the new November Marketscope version
Nikolay.Gekht
FXCodeBase: Base Builder
 
Posts: 1222
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 6:39 pm
Location: Cary, NC

Re: How to Download and Install a Custom Signal

Postby rtd1879 » Wed Apr 14, 2010 11:06 pm

After I have saved SuperTrend to hard drive and try to download to Marketscope I receive 'error in file.' Suggestion please. Thanks
rtd1879
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 10:48 pm

Re: How to Download and Install a Custom Signal

Postby Nikolay.Gekht » Thu Apr 15, 2010 8:59 am

SuperTrend is an indicator, is not a signal. So, you must use Chart->Manager Custom Indicator instead of Signal->Manage Custom Signals.
Nikolay.Gekht
FXCodeBase: Base Builder
 
Posts: 1222
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 6:39 pm
Location: Cary, NC

Re: How to Download and Install a Custom Signal

Postby rtd1879 » Thu Apr 15, 2010 12:48 pm

Nikolay.Gekht wrote:SuperTrend is an indicator, is not a signal. So, you must use Chart->Manager Custom Indicator instead of Signal->Manage Custom Signals.

Thanks! Got it. :D
rtd1879
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 10:48 pm

Re: How to Download and Install a Custom Signal

Postby JPLAFOREX » Wed May 12, 2010 8:52 pm

Hello,

I downloaded this indicator under indicators in my Metatrader4 but I can not paste into the charts. Does this indicator works with metatrader4?????
JPLAFOREX
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 6:19 am

Re: How to Download and Install a Custom Signal

Postby Nikolay.Gekht » Thu May 13, 2010 8:16 am

All lua indicators and signals published on this site are not for Metatrader.
These indicators and signal are for Marketscope. This is the charting application distributed together with the FXCM (dbFX) Trading Station Application.
So, in short none of the indicators and signals will work for Metatrader.

To get metatrader and indicator signals you should use the metatrader codebase's, for example http://codebase.mql4.com.
Nikolay.Gekht
FXCodeBase: Base Builder
 
Posts: 1222
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 6:39 pm
Location: Cary, NC

Re: How to Download and Install a Custom Signal

Postby JPLAFOREX » Thu May 13, 2010 11:49 am

Thank you!
JPLAFOREX
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 6:19 am

Re: How to Download and Install a Custom Signal

Postby Checkz » Fri Sep 10, 2010 2:31 am

Everytime I try to load a signal I get an error message can someone please help me
Checkz
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: How to Download and Install a Custom Signal

Postby Apprentice » Fri Sep 10, 2010 3:14 am

Sure.
But to help you gotta tell us more about your problem.
What is the error message, which signal you are trying to load.
User avatar
Apprentice
FXCodeBase: Confirmed User
 
Posts: 16949
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 11:59 am
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: How to Download and Install a Custom Signal

Postby Checkz » Fri Sep 10, 2010 5:20 am

I FIGURED IT OUT. THANKS BUT I WAS WONDERING IF YOU COULD POST AN UPDATED VERSION OF THE RUMPLED ONES DYNAMIC FIB S/R INDICATOR
Checkz
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 3:27 pm

Next

Return to Custom Signals

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests