FXCM Forex Trading

How to Download and Install a Custom Signal/Strategy

Strategies are published here.

Moderator: admin

Re: How to Download and Install a Custom Signal/Strategy

Postby learner » Tue Jan 10, 2012 2:53 pm

Hello,
Can anyone tell me...
Are strategies only active when my computer is logged on to the trading site?
The reason I ask is that I have back tested the DMACD strategy and it makes 5 or 6 trades a day, but when I activated it on my demo account it did nothing for the whole day.
Sorry if I'm being a bit silly.
learner
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 2:46 pm

Re: How to Download and Install a Custom Signal/Strategy

Postby sunshine » Wed Jan 11, 2012 12:14 am

Thank you for your post. Welcome to the forum community!
Are strategies only active when my computer is logged on to the trading site?

Yes. When you are logged out, your strategies are inactive.

The reason I ask is that I have back tested the DMACD strategy and it makes 5 or 6 trades a day, but when I activated it on my demo account it did nothing for the whole day.


Please make sure that you have the Allow Trading parameter set to "Yes":

AllowTrading.PNG
sunshine
 

Re: How to Download and Install a Custom Signal/Strategy

Postby Ricksan » Thu Jan 12, 2012 11:18 am

Hi all, can any tell me how to change a fxd back to lua?
Ricksan
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 3:54 pm

Re: How to Download and Install a Custom Signal/Strategy

Postby learner » Thu Jan 12, 2012 5:19 pm

Thanks for your reply sunshine.
I did have the allow to trade set to yes, but i wasn't logged on :roll:

Also, is there a way of setting strategies to only open one position at a time, ie. not to open another until the current one has closed?
I'm experimenting with DMACD at present, but I would like to know this for strategies generally, as well as this one.
If not, can this be progammed in?
learner
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 2:46 pm

Re: How to Download and Install a Custom Signal/Strategy

Postby Apprentice » Tue Jan 24, 2012 3:41 am

This depends on the strategy to strategy.
For some time I use this functionality in my new strategies.
If you use some of the old strategys, written by other authors, ther is possible that they do not have it.
But they can be added on a case by case basis.
User avatar
Apprentice
FXCodeBase: Confirmed User
 
Posts: 14299
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 11:59 am
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

How to create custom strategy

Postby VijayanAshokan » Fri Jul 27, 2012 2:13 am

I am Vijayan and new to here can any one help me ,how to create a custom strategy that trade automatically when my condition is met,give me simple example.

Thanks
VijayanAshokan
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2010 8:40 am

Re: How to Download and Install a Custom Signal/Strategy

Postby Ekaterina » Mon Jul 30, 2012 1:09 am

Hi Vijayan,

Please read the article that describes the simple strategy creation: Moving Average Cross.
And I think this section will also be useful for you: Indicore Step-By-Step Instructions.

Best regards,
Ekaterina
Ekaterina
 

Re: How to Download and Install a Custom Signal/Strategy

Postby VijayanAshokan » Tue Jul 31, 2012 9:37 pm

Thanks Ekaterina

Vijayan A
VijayanAshokan
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2010 8:40 am

Re: How to Download and Install a Custom Signal/Strategy

Postby guangho » Fri May 17, 2013 1:51 am

Because the level is insufficient, cannot send the posts, so here to post questions, sorry...

I would like to ask a question: on the use of "period":

For example:
Source=ExtSubscribe(1,nil,instance.parameters.TF,true,"bar");
Indicator[1]=core.indicators:create("MVA",Source.close,5);
Short["A1"]=Indicator[1]:getStream(0);

I would like to ask:
"Short[" A1 "][period]"、"Short[" A1 "](period)"、"Short[" A1 "].period"、"Short[" A1 "](period-1)"
represent what meaning? If the application in Ma wear should use? To output numerical comparison and should use?

thank you!
guangho
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 12:16 pm

Re: How to Download and Install a Custom Signal/Strategy

Postby jonboysez » Sun Jul 28, 2013 1:29 pm

Hi,
I'm trying to backtest the breakout strategy with GMMACD filter but for some reason its not letting me set a parameter to allow trading - the parameter is missing. (I have backtested the simple breakout strategy and that works fine -the trading parameter is there and can be set to yes). I have included the GMMA and GMMACD indicators on the chart but it won't show any trades when backtesting. Am I doing something wrong?
jonboysez
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2013 7:11 am

PreviousNext

Return to Custom Strategies

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests