FXCM Forex Trading

Breakout Strategy

Strategies are published here.

Moderator: admin

Re: Breakout Strategy

Postby alepan72 » Fri Dec 03, 2010 4:20 am

vstrelnikov wrote:
alepan72 wrote:[string breakout_strategy.lua]: 208: Cannot recognize the host command.
Where did I go wrong...? :?: :roll:

Do you have Autotrading patch installed?


Goodmorning from Greece!
I have the Trading station console and Marketscope 2.0, also I use some strategies with the "allow trade" ON. Is it OK or I must have the autotrading patch for this strategy?
THANX for your time!
Image
User avatar
alepan72
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 4:19 am

Re: Breakout Strategy

Postby costock » Sun Dec 05, 2010 1:21 pm

Hi

I've installed the Breakout indicator and strategy and both seem to work fine, but when I backtested the autotrading option against either G/J or G/U pairs, I cannot get the entry strategy to co-incide with breakout of the pair. It is usually a matter of a 2 or more hours out when on a 60minute timeframe and despite fiddling with different time frames. I'm running off local time, GMT - not sure if that has anything to do with it. Also the pip offset is set to zero.

Any ideas greatly appreciated.

thanks
costock
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 1:19 pm

Re: Breakout Strategy

Postby alepan72 » Mon Dec 06, 2010 11:15 am

costock wrote:Hi

I've installed the Breakout indicator and strategy and both seem to work fine, but when I backtested the autotrading option against either G/J or G/U pairs, I cannot get the entry strategy to co-incide with breakout of the pair. It is usually a matter of a 2 or more hours out when on a 60minute timeframe and despite fiddling with different time frames. I'm running off local time, GMT - not sure if that has anything to do with it. Also the pip offset is set to zero.

Any ideas greatly appreciated.

thanks


Hi all!!!
I install the "autotrading patch" and all seems to be OK.
But... I have the same problem with costock. The time that breakout take place must be at 15.30, but the backtesting give me a sing at 22.30.
(see the screenshot below)

break.png
Image
User avatar
alepan72
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 4:19 am

Re: Breakout Strategy

Postby borsaty » Tue Dec 07, 2010 3:13 am

Dear
First of all thanks for your big effort
The strategy working fine except some pairs doesn't trigger like GBPJPY and EURJPY
Also can make some modification i try to list it
1- strategy deal only with its order not with any other order with the same pair from another strategy
2- the strategy doesn't close the opposite order i.e hedging ( my account allow hedging) so can catch to order buy and sell at the same time
3- the ability to change the number of order 1, 2, 3, ... or any other number ( now either one or all )
sorry about my language
Thanks so much........
Dr.Selim Ahmed
+20110163707
User avatar
borsaty
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2010 12:31 pm

Re: Breakout Strategy

Postby alepan72 » Fri Dec 10, 2010 4:50 am

[/quote]

But... I have the same problem with costock. The time that breakout take place must be at 15.30, but the backtesting give me a sing at 22.30.

[/quote]

Well, I think that problem is on time settings. Strategy does n't recognize the time zone (EST, GMT, LOCAL). Trades are synchronize with EST time zone only.

e.g. If I setup the strategy from 10.00 to 15.00 local time (GMT +2), trades take place from 10.00 to 15.00 EST time (means 17.00 - 22.00 local time).

Best regards for your services. Kisses from Greece :!: :!: :!:
Image
User avatar
alepan72
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 4:19 am

Re: Breakout Strategy

Postby GBitaly » Wed Dec 22, 2010 5:36 am

I would know if the problem on time setting have been correct
I have applied this strategy to Eur/usd but I have problem of entry time.
If I put the same setting on the indicator on the strategie the backtest make different entries.
I believe that it doesn't recognize the "local time setting" on strategy.
I have also set the parameter "once a day" YES but the strategies makes two operations in one day
Can you fix it ?
if works I would add incremental and decremental order,if it's possible .

thanks in advance
guido
GBitaly
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 3:43 am

Re: Breakout Strategy

Postby adekoyagbemi » Thu Dec 23, 2010 9:56 am

Each time i try to add the breakout strategy, i get an error 'string breakout.lua' :126 : indicator with id BREkOUT not found. Kindly assist to resolve this problem
adekoyagbemi
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 3:56 am

Re: Breakout Strategy

Postby Apprentice » Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:27 am

Just Install Breakout indicator.


You can find it here.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=966
User avatar
Apprentice
FXCodeBase: Confirmed User
 
Posts: 14833
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 11:59 am
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: Breakout Strategy

Postby adekoyagbemi » Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:57 am

I have installed it, still having the error message
adekoyagbemi
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 3:56 am

Re: Breakout Strategy

Postby Blackcat2 » Thu Dec 23, 2010 7:19 pm

Could you please have the option of trailing stop?
Blackcat2
FXCodeBase: Initiate
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 12:42 am

PreviousNext

Return to Custom Strategies

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests