Page 1 of 16

Breakout Strategy

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2010 11:08 am
by vstrelnikov
Strategy based on breakout indicator. Please download and install it, before using strategy.
Besides indicator parameters itself (period interval and box interval) there are several parameters
for strategy tuning. See parameters description below:

- Type of breakout - Open position after candle closes above high level, or open position immediately if incoming tick price is above high level.
- Once per day - Is strategy allowed to open positions several time during trading day.
- Excess (in pips) - Additional gap between high/low values and open price. 0 by default.

Note: Strategy don't have any 'exit' criteria except Stop/Limit orders, therefore Stop/Limit parameters are required for this strategy.

You can play with all above parameters to make the strategy most profitable.

Breakout_Strategy.png


Breakout_Strategy.lua
(12.98 KiB) Downloaded 10686 times


Please share any suggestions or comments here.

Breakout Strategy with GMMACD Filter
Take only breakouts which have been confirmed with GMMACD
Breakout_Strategy with GMMACD Filter.lua
(13.39 KiB) Downloaded 4047 times

You must have both GMMA and GMMACD installed in order to use this strategy.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=412&hilit=GMMACD

Re: Breakout Strategy

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2010 5:00 pm
by borsaty
Thanks

Re: Breakout Strategy

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2010 5:31 pm
by borsaty
Thanks for helping us
does this strategy can hit both buy and sell if the stop loss of the first order not filled ,
if not what the ability to do that as hedging .
also what is the ability to add parameter for buy or sell or both
and also filter parameter like moving average

Re: Breakout Strategy

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2010 9:46 pm
by borsaty
hi
can we make this indicator to put buy entry and sell entry instead of market order at the plce of breakout
thanks

Re: Breakout Strategy

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2010 8:29 am
by Ancient
Hi, could someone please help to clarify whether Both Indicator and Strategy require to have the Same Time Settings? Or does the Indicator just have to be loaded on a chart?

Thank You

Re: Breakout Strategy

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2010 8:42 am
by Apprentice
The indicator must be installed so that strategy could work.
But you do not need to added it to the chart.
They are independent.

Re: Breakout Strategy

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2010 8:09 pm
by Ancient
Two Issues:

1) It would be good for Strategies to be De-Activated AUTO when Logging Out. This so as to prevent them from running immediately when logging back in.

2) Would be good to have an option to activate or de-activate all Strategies with ONE BUTTON.
(Start All) - (Stop All)

3) For those trading more than ONE account, to be able to select accounts to be traded with a selected Strategy, instead of having to load the same Strategy for each account.

4) Should 3 above require premium support, please inform me.

Thank You Apprentice!

Re: Breakout Strategy

PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 4:51 am
by alepan72
Hi all,
You do good work, excellent!!!
I have a prob with this strategy. I get tried to eyrgbp pair. When I setup the strategy, return me an historical message every sec. that say:

[string breakout_strategy.lua]: 208: Cannot recognize the host command.

Where did I go wrong...? :?: :roll:

breakout_wrong.png

Re:Breakout

PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 6:01 am
by borsaty
the strategy can't fill all orders
in this case only EURUSD and USDCAD but the strategy fail to fill EURJPY and GBPJPY
......... look at the image

Re: Breakout Strategy

PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 9:39 am
by vstrelnikov
alepan72 wrote:[string breakout_strategy.lua]: 208: Cannot recognize the host command.
Where did I go wrong...? :?: :roll:

Do you have Autotrading patch installed?