ATR Channel

Here you can post and download custom indicators. PLEASE: Do not start topics unless you are posting your own indicator, they will be moved to appropriate section even if you do.

Moderator: admin

ATR Channel

Postby Apprentice » Tue Apr 27, 2010 11:50 am

ATR Channel Custom.png
ATR Channel Custom

On user request I made this version of the ATR Channel indicator.
Allows you to define the percentage of multiples, ATR-a period.

Quite volatile.

ATRC = Close +- Multiplier*ATR*Channel percentage

ATR Channel Custom.lua
ATR Channel Custom
(2.21 KiB) Downloaded 1884 times

ATR Channels Indicator is also known as Keltner's channels is one of the most interesting “channel indicators” , which are based on ATR.

Keltner's channels, with a whole range of advanced features is available here.
http://fxcodebase.com/code/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=280&start=0&hilit=Keltner#p449

MT4/MQ4 version.
viewtopic.php?f=38&t=65681&p=117353#p117353

The indicator was revised and updated
Last edited by Apprentice on Tue Apr 27, 2010 12:37 pm, edited 6 times in total.
User avatar
Apprentice
FXCodeBase: Confirmed User
 
Posts: 36341
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 11:59 am
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: ATR Channel

Postby Apprentice » Tue Apr 27, 2010 11:53 am

atr.png
ATR Channel

This version uses averaged closing price to get a smooth central line.

ATRC = MA of Close +- Multiplier*ATR

My interest in ATC was making the multi-channel version of the indicators.

ATR Channel.lua
(5.75 KiB) Downloaded 1452 times

I added a version that uses Averages indicator.
To enable you choice of moving average.

To use this version of the indicator,
You must install Averages Indivator
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=2430&p=5705&hilit=averages#p5705
User avatar
Apprentice
FXCodeBase: Confirmed User
 
Posts: 36341
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 11:59 am
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: ATR Channel

Postby Capie1 » Thu Jul 08, 2010 4:40 am

Hi

Is it possible to code the indicator to show other timeframe ATR Values,
say dayly on a 4 hr chart ?

Thank you

Regards
Capie1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: ATR Channel

Postby Apprentice » Thu Jul 08, 2010 4:50 am

Added to development cue.
User avatar
Apprentice
FXCodeBase: Confirmed User
 
Posts: 36341
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 11:59 am
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: ATR Channel

Postby Capie1 » Thu Jul 08, 2010 5:16 am

Thank you, that will be great if you could amend it to the ATR Channel Custom please.
Also one more question/request please on ATR Channel Custom.

At the moment the ATR Custom channel indicator appears to show values based on the current bars close and changes throughout the formation of the current bar(dynamic)? If this is the case could you please change it to plotting the previous bars values in the current bars time window, thus showing a ATR Channel based on the for example 100 previous candles in the current timeframe. This would supposedly cause the channel to be static until current bar ( or other selected timeframe expires such as daily) and would more accurately show breakouts.

Thank you in advance.

Regards
Capie1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: ATR Channel

Postby Alexander.Gettinger » Tue Jul 27, 2010 5:05 pm

ATR Channel for bigger timeframe:

BF_ATR_Channel.png


Code: Select all
-- todo: support week offset

function Init()
    indicator:name("Bigger timeframe ATR Channel");
    indicator:description("");
    indicator:requiredSource(core.Bar);
    indicator:type(core.Indicator);

    indicator.parameters:addGroup("Calculation");
    indicator.parameters:addString("BS", "Time frame to calculate ATR Channel", "", "D1");
    indicator.parameters:setFlag("BS", core.FLAG_PERIODS);
    indicator.parameters:addInteger("P1", "ATR Period", "ATR Period", 10);
    indicator.parameters:addInteger("P3", "EMA Period", "EMA Period", 20);
    indicator.parameters:addString("MORE", "Show additional lines", "Yes", "Yes");
    indicator.parameters:addStringAlternative("MORE", "Yes", "Show additional lines", "Yes");
    indicator.parameters:addStringAlternative("MORE", "No", "Show additional lines", "No");

    indicator.parameters:addGroup("Display");
    indicator.parameters:addColor("Central_color", "Central", "Color of Central", core.rgb(0, 0, 255));
    indicator.parameters:addColor("Top_color", "Top", "Color of Top", core.rgb(0, 255, 0));
    indicator.parameters:addColor("Bottom_color", "Bottom", "Color of Bottom", core.rgb(255, 0, 0));
end

local source;                   -- the source
local bf_data = nil;          -- the high/low data
local P1;
local P3;
local MORE;
local BS;
local bf_length;                 -- length of the bigger frame in seconds
local dates;                    -- candle dates
local host;
local S1,S2,S3,S4,S5,S6,S7;
local ATRch;
local day_offset;
local week_offset;
local extent;

function Prepare()
    source = instance.source;
    host = core.host;

    day_offset = host:execute("getTradingDayOffset");
    week_offset = host:execute("getTradingWeekOffset");

    BS = instance.parameters.BS;
    P1 = instance.parameters.P1;
    P3 = instance.parameters.P3;
    MORE = instance.parameters.MORE;
    extent = math.max(P1,P3)*2;

    local s, e, s1, e1;

    s, e = core.getcandle(source:barSize(), core.now(), 0, 0);
    s1, e1 = core.getcandle(BS, core.now(), 0, 0);
    assert ((e - s) <= (e1 - s1), "The chosen time frame must be bigger than the chart time frame!");
    bf_length = math.floor((e1 - s1) * 86400 + 0.5);

    local name = profile:id() .. "(" .. source:name() .. "," .. BS .. "," .. P1 .. "," .. P3 .. ")";
    instance:name(name);
    S1 = instance:addStream("Central", core.Line, name .. "Central", "Central", instance.parameters.Central_color, 0);
    S2 = instance:addStream("Top1", core.Line, name .. "Top", "Top", instance.parameters.Top_color, 0);
    S3 = instance:addStream("Bottom1", core.Line, name .. "Bottom", "Bottom", instance.parameters.Bottom_color, 0);
    S4 = instance:addStream("Top2", core.Line, name .. "Top", "",  instance.parameters.Top_color, 0);
    S5 = instance:addStream("Bottom2", core.Line, name .. "Bottom", "", instance.parameters.Bottom_color, 0);
    S6 = instance:addStream("Top3", core.Line, name .. "Top", "", instance.parameters.Top_color, 0);
    S7 = instance:addStream("Bottom3", core.Line, name .. "Bottom", "", instance.parameters.Bottom_color, 0);


end


local loading = false;
local loadingFrom, loadingTo;
local pday = nil;

-- the function which is called to calculate the period
function Update(period, mode)
    -- get date and time of the hi/lo candle in the reference data
    local bf_candle;
    bf_candle = core.getcandle(BS, source:date(period), day_offset, week_offset);

    -- if data for the specific candle are still loading
    -- then do nothing
    if loading and bf_candle >= loadingFrom and (loadingTo == 0 or bf_candle <= loadingTo) then
        return ;
    end

    -- if the period is before the source start
    -- the do nothing
    if period < source:first() then
        return ;
    end

    -- if data is not loaded yet at all
    -- load the data
    if bf_data == nil then
        -- there is no data at all, load initial data
        local to, t;
        local from;

        if (source:isAlive()) then
            -- if the source is subscribed for updates
            -- then subscribe the current collection as well
            to = 0;
        else
            -- else load up to the last currently available date
            t, to = core.getcandle(BS, source:date(period), day_offset, week_offset);
        end

        from = core.getcandle(BS, source:date(source:first()), day_offset, week_offset);
        S1:setBookmark(1, period);
        -- shift so the bigger frame data is able to provide us with the stoch data at the first period
        from = math.floor(from * 86400 - (bf_length * extent) + 0.5) / 86400;
        local nontrading, nontradingend;
        nontrading, nontradingend = core.isnontrading(from, day_offset);
        if nontrading then
            -- if it is non-trading, shift for two days to skip the non-trading periods
            from = math.floor((from - 2) * 86400 - (bf_length * extent) + 0.5) / 86400;
        end
        loading = true;
        loadingFrom = from;
        loadingTo = to;
        bf_data = host:execute("getHistory", 1, source:instrument(), BS, loadingFrom, to, source:isBid());
        ATRch = core.indicators:create("ATR CHANNEL", bf_data, P1,P3,"Yes");
        return ;
    end

    -- check whether the requested candle is before
    -- the reference collection start
    if (bf_candle < bf_data:date(0)) then
        S1:setBookmark(1, period);
        if loading then
            return ;
        end
        -- shift so the bigger frame data is able to provide us with the stoch data at the first period
        from = math.floor(bf_candle * 86400 - (bf_length * extent) + 0.5) / 86400;
        local nontrading, nontradingend;
        nontrading, nontradingend = core.isnontrading(from, day_offset);
        if nontrading then
            -- if it is non-trading, shift for two days to skip the non-trading periods
            from = math.floor((from - 2) * 86400 - (bf_length * extent) + 0.5) / 86400;
        end
        loading = true;
        loadingFrom = from;
        loadingTo = bf_data:date(0);
        host:execute("extendHistory", 1, bf_data, loadingFrom, loadingTo);
        return ;
    end

    -- check whether the requested candle is after
    -- the reference collection end
    if (not(source:isAlive()) and bf_candle > bf_data:date(bf_data:size() - 1)) then
        S1:setBookmark(1, period);
        if loading then
            return ;
        end
        loading = true;
        loadingFrom = bf_data:date(bf_data:size() - 1);
        loadingTo = bf_candle;
        host:execute("extendHistory", 1, bf_data, loadingFrom, loadingTo);
        return ;
    end

    ATRch:update(mode);
    local p;
    p = findDateFast(bf_data, bf_candle, true);
    if p == -1 then
        return ;
    end
    if ATRch:getStream(0):hasData(p) then
        S1[period] = ATRch:getStream(0)[p];
    end
    if ATRch:getStream(1):hasData(p) then
        S2[period] = ATRch:getStream(1)[p];
    end
    if ATRch:getStream(2):hasData(p) then
        S3[period] = ATRch:getStream(2)[p];
    end
    if ATRch:getStream(3):hasData(p) then
        S4[period] = ATRch:getStream(3)[p];
    end
    if ATRch:getStream(4):hasData(p) then
        S5[period] = ATRch:getStream(4)[p];
    end
    if ATRch:getStream(5):hasData(p) then
        S6[period] = ATRch:getStream(5)[p];
    end
    if ATRch:getStream(6):hasData(p) then
        S7[period] = ATRch:getStream(6)[p];
    end
end

-- the function is called when the async operation is finished
function AsyncOperationFinished(cookie)
    local period;

    pday = nil;
    period = S1:getBookmark(1);

    if (period < 0) then
        period = 0;
    end
    loading = false;
    instance:updateFrom(period);
end

function findDateFast(stream, date, precise)
    local datesec = nil;
    local periodsec = nil;
    local min, max, mid;

    datesec = math.floor(date * 86400 + 0.5)

    min = 0;
    max = stream:size() - 1;

    while true do
        mid = math.floor((min + max) / 2);
        periodsec = math.floor(stream:date(mid) * 86400 + 0.5);
        if datesec == periodsec then
            return mid;
        elseif datesec > periodsec then
            min = mid + 1;
        else
            max = mid - 1;
        end
        if min > max then
            if precise then
                return -1;
            else
                return min - 1;
            end
        end
    end
end
Attachments
BF_ATR_Channel.lua
(8.4 KiB) Downloaded 1274 times
Alexander.Gettinger
FXCodeBase: Confirmed User
 
Posts: 3785
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 9:40 pm
Location: Russia, Omsk

Re: ATR Channel

Postby wrighj03 » Sun Dec 12, 2010 4:02 pm

what are the classical values to make the keltner channel appear as it does on freestockcharts.com or stockcharts.com

Thank you
wrighj03
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 11:56 am

Re: ATR Channel

Postby Apprentice » Mon Dec 13, 2010 6:30 am

In my experience, there does not exist, the right option,
You can adjust it to the current state of the market,
to suits your style of trading, trading strategy.
User avatar
Apprentice
FXCodeBase: Confirmed User
 
Posts: 36341
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 11:59 am
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: ATR Channel

Postby wrighj03 » Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:32 am

Apprentice wrote:In my experience, there does not exist, the right option,
You can adjust it to the current state of the market,
to suits your style of trading, trading strategy.


I didn't describe that well. I pair the keltner channel and the bollinger band to gauge volatility. When the BB goes inside the Kelt that is the set-up.

How do I just make the lines straighter.
wrighj03
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 11:56 am

Re: ATR Channel

Postby momo721 » Wed Dec 29, 2010 11:52 pm

I am new to forex. Where I can read about how to use ATR Channel indicator? I understand what the middle line is, but what are the green lines above and below? Instructors at DailyFX use ATR indicator, but it looks somewhat different. Please advise. Thank you.
momo721
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 11:49 pm

Next

Return to Custom Indicators

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot], zerounu and 47 guests